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Reply To: Media Buys

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#817362
Anonymous
Inactive

@Webzcas 229884 wrote:

Hi All,

Felt it best to post this in here as I understand all and sundry don’t have access here.

I need some advice.

I have launched a new football ( soccer ) news site back on the 3rd June and I have grown the site to the extent, articles on it are being featured and linked to from UK national newspaper sites and also the BBC.

In addition, the site’s feed is being picked up by some very prominent news aggregators, whereby as a result the traffic is fantastic.

However, football news traffic is very low conversion, but my plan is to sell media buy packages to around 4 or 5 sportsbooks. Instead of the angle of I can guarantee x number of players, I want to sell this based on, your book will get seen by xxx,xxx people a month.

So I am guessing a CPM deal is the way forward. I have no problem providing any prospective advertiser to have access to the google analytics for the site, to verify the traffic. I just want to know what would be the best CPM rate to charge?

Is $/£1 per 1000 page impressions to low/expensive? Or could I realistically charge more, and if so how much, without being laughed off the phone/meeting/email LOL

To give an indication of the amount of traffic the site is getting, yesterday we had just over 24,000 unique visitors. But then, we were on the BBC site once again. I estimate realistically, the site will be achieving half a million unique visitors ( Uniques – not hits or page impressions ) a month soon.

CPM could easily work for this, although so could CPC but the challenge with CPC is that you’re pernalised if the advertiser’s creative does not get clicked on very much due to bad design, etc.

If you wish to calculate a CPM or CPC rate, you just work things backwards. See the following:

10,000 impressions (or could be clicks) = 1 depositor
1 depositor = £200 CPA
£200 / 10,000 = £.02 per impression
£.02 x 1000 = £20 CPM

Of course, the above is taking into consideration a few key assumptions.

Let me know if this makes sense.

Cheers
Warren